top of page

Maia Hawaiian Jewelry First Year Anniversary

Dear Ohana,

One year ago, I was too intimidated to start a jewelry business— I didn’t even know where to begin. Would people laugh at me? Would anyone even like my jewelry? Was I even talented or good enough to start?

It was August of 2019, when I finally built up enough courage to take a risk and go for it. I vividly remember pressing the blue order button on Rio Grande’s Jewelry Supply website. At the beginning I didn’t own any jewelry tools, and when I did get my hands on some, they were always borrowed from my high school’s jewelry shop when I came home for school breaks. I know you were probably sick of me constantly asking to borrow, but thanks Ralph! Pressing the order button for my first purchase of my own tools was monumental—it was in that moment when I fully committed and I couldn’t back out. I remember in that moment being both terrified and exhilarated all at the same time. I was really going to do this. I could do this.


Looking back now, I realize my initial fears were irrational, but at the time I had no idea what was to come. One year ago, the thought of selling my earrings to someone was terrifying. Putting myself out there to openly get rejected? Who in their right mind would say sign me up for that! I couldn’t even imagine having my own Etsy shop, but most importantly, I could not even imagine having an incredible community supporting me. Without you, Sharon and Janae, I would not have even had the courage to press that order button last summer. Friends, family, and art teachers (yes that includes you too Mark!), I can’t tell you how much your support has meant to me. You are all a part of this this amazing community that really bring our jewelry business to life and makes it truly something special. So, I want to thank you for being a part of this journey.

And to those who I have yet to meet, if you’ve made it this far reading this, I can’t tell you enough how grateful I am to have you here. Welcome to our family. Welcome to our Ohana. You are a part of this beautiful journey we create together to spread the life spirit of Hawai‘i and I hope our jewelry takes you on a tropical journey back to a place of natural simplicity.

In celebration of our first year Anniversary, we are releasing a new Kauai Collection inspired by the Na Pali Coast of Kauai. Our collection embraces the island’s simplistic elegance and natural beauty. Discover the collection here.

Additionally, as a big Mahalo for all of your support, we are offering a 15% discount towards any order $30 or more through August 11th 2020. Shop on our Etsy. Use coupon MAHALO15 at checkout.

Thank you again for all your support. I love you all.

Big Mahalo.

Malia

36 views0 comments
bottom of page